Kulturaustausch - the world in one magazine

In every issue we focus on one theme and invite authors from around the world to explore it from their unique perspective: How is the climate-change debate unfolding in Brazil? How do people in France mull over migration and home? Who is the leading voice on feminism in Ethiopia? Leading international names are featured alongside local voices, giving insight into their day-to-day. We stand for diversity, internationality and a close-up take on journalism, making KULTURAUSTAUSCH the magazine for international perspectives.

KULTURAUSTAUSCH is published by the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen e. V. and CONBRIO Verlag in a public-private partnership and financially supported by the Federal Foreign Office. The publisher is Ronald Grätz, Secretary General of the ifa. Jenny Friedrich-Freksa has been the editor-in-chief of the journal since 2005. The magazine is published four times a year and reaches readers in more than 100 countries. It is available on subscription or can be bought in selected magazine stores in Germany.

Founded in 1951, the magazine started out under the name MITTEILUNGEN and from 1962 to 2006 as ZEITSCHRIFT FÜR KULTURAUSTAUSCH. Over the years it has published articles and interviews with leading figures from across the spheres of culture, media, science, politics and society, featuring Swetlana Alexijewitsch, Kofi Annan, Noam Chomsky, Teju Cole, Siri Hustvedt, Eva Illouz, Pankaj Mishra, Marie NDiaye, Laurie Penny, Saskia Sassen and Charles Taylor among others. Each magazine features a stand-out photo gallery showcasing international photographers such as Edward Burtynsky, Martin Parr or Lord Snowdon. Art Director Heike Reinsch won the Red Dot Design Award in the Communication Design category for her design of the "What Remains of War" edition. Starting in 2019, KULTURAUSTAUSCH has also been published online in English.

Editorial board
An advisory board including experts from the spheres of politics, science, media and culture advises the editorial staff on the selection of the main topics.

Johannes Ebert, Goethe Institute General Secretary, Munich

Prof. Dr. Naika Foroutan, Political scientist, Humboldt University, Berlin

Theo Geißler, Publisher, Regensburg  Martina Hackelberg, Foreign Office, Berlin

Jagoda Marinić, Writer and journalist, Heidelberg

Evelyn Roll, Journalist, Berlin

Ebba Scholl, Federal Foreign Office, Berlin

Dr. Claudia Schmölders, Cultural scientist, Berlin

Aleš Šteger, author, Ljubljanaris Fioretos, author, Stockholm